Education Advisory Board

The Education Advisory Board of the Confucius Institute of the State of Washington meets quarterly or more often, as needed, to plan the educational programs for the Confucius Institute for teachers and students.

Michele Anciaux Aoki, Director of the CIWA Education Center, chairs the CIWA Education Advisory Board. Contact her at

Many thanks to our founding Director, Karen Kodama, who has now retired from Seattle Public Schools.

Education Advisory Board Members

  • Aihua Liao, Assistant director, UW CIWA
  • Alice Flores, Vice President, Chinese Language Teachers Association – WA
  • Angela Davila, World Languages Program Supervisor, Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction
  • Anne Hilton, Assistant Director of Digital Strategy for Asia Society
  • Betty Lau, Teacher of ESL, Chong-wa Benevolent Society, Seattle
  • Bridget Yaden, Associate Professor of Spanish, Pacific Lutheran University, Tacoma
  • Carol Coe, Social Studies Program Supervisor, Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction, Olympia
  • Chan Lu, Assistant Professor, UW Asian Languages & Literature, Seattle
  • Chunman Gissing, Chinese Teacher; Examiner for IBO, International Baccalaureate Organization, Seattle
  • Diana Sampson, Executive Director of International Education, Shoreline Community College, Shoreline
  • Dongmei Huang, Confucius Institute Chinese Director K-12 (from Chongqing Municipal Education Commission), Seattle
  • Grace Norman, formerly with Asia Society, Seattle
  • Heidi Steele, Chinese Teacher, Peninsula School District, Gig Harbor
  • Jennifer Lundstrem, ELL Teacher, Edmonds-Woodway High School, Edmonds
  • Jennifer Tanaka, Executive Director, OneWorld Now!, Seattle
  • Jun Zhou, Chinese Director, UW CIWA, Seattle
  • Kathryn Ong, Site Coordinator, CIWA Education Center, Seattle
  • Khawar Ahmed, Director, Sponge School, Seattle
  • Kirsten Rogers, Director of Development & Communications, OneWorld Now!, Seattle
  • Lisa Devine, Assistant Director of Global Programs, Lakeside School, Seattle
  • Michele Anciaux Aoki, International Education Administrator, Seattle Public Schools, Seattle
  • Paul Aoki, Director, UW Language Learning Center, Seattle
  • Pollyanna Wang, Chinese Teacher, Chief Sealth International High School, Seattle
  • Rongfen Sun Burford, Chinese Teacher, Bellevue School District-Tyee Middle School /OneWorld Now!, Bellevue / Seattle
  • Sharon Gao, Director, Asia Pacific Language School, Bellevue
  • Tao Zhang, Principal, Northwest Chinese School
  • Tina Bogucharova, Principal, JingMei Elementary School, Bellevue School District
  • Weiyu Wang, Lead Chinese Teacher, Sponge School, Seattle
  • Xiaofeng Foster, President, Chinese Language Teachers Association – WA
  • Xiaohan “Linda” Du, International Programs Manager, China Specialist, Shoreline Community College, Shoreline
  • Ying Ying Wu, Chinese Immersion Teacher, Beacon Hill International School, Seattle
  • Zoe Jiang, Chinese Teacher, Skyline High School, Seattle

Members of the Education Advisory Board welcome our new Chinese Directors — Deng, Bo and Tang, Changping– January 13, 2011.